Community Development

The Cumberland County HOME Consortium's (CCHC) 2018 HOME Affordable Housing Development Application is now available.   Funding under this application can be used for the development of affordable rental housing in Cumberland County, but NOT in the City of Portland.  Applicants who require a conditional commitment of HOME funds as part of other financing applications are encouraged to apply as soon as possible, but no later than April 30.  The CCHC will consider applications received after April 30 if funds are available.  Applicants applying after April 30 should contact the CCHC of Portland to confirm the availability of funds prior to submitting an application.

The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development's (HUD) Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) program provides federal funding to locally-directed community development initiatives.

Communities can plan and implement critical community development, housing, and social service programs and projects. Nationally, approximately $2-4 billion has been distributed to cities, towns, and counties each year.

CDBG Funds in Cumberland County

Beginning in 2007 Cumberland County became a direct recipient of CDBG program funds, the first county in New England to participate directly in the CDBG program.

Currently 25 cities and towns in Cumberland County participate in the program. The City of South Portland and the Town of Bridgton receive a set-aside of program funds and maintain operational and administrative independence for their own community development program activities, while the remaining 23 cities and towns compete for grants for local projects and collaborate on region-wide activities.

Allocations in Cumberland County

The following is a list of CDBG allocations to the Cumberland County program over the program's history:

  • 2017 (Year 11): $1,390,296
  • 2016 (Year 10): $1,388,065
  • 2015 (Year 9): $1,416,401
  • 2014 (Year 8): $1,456,936
  • 2013 (Year 7): $1,534,022
  • 2012 (Year 6): $1,439,335
  • 2011 (Year 5): $1,543,926
  • 2010 (Year 4): $1,849,093
  • 2009 (Year 3): $1,476,223
  • 2008 (Year 2): $1,458,560
  • 2007 (Year 1): $1,462,123