County Commissioners

Peter Crichton

Peter Crichton, County Manager


Cumberland County Government
142 Federal Street
Portland, ME 04101

Office Hours: Mon-Fri

Cumberland County Government adheres to the following values that the county holds regarding regional relationships.

1. Citizens are the customers
2. Broad-based deliberative process
3. Build trust
4. Outreach initiatives
5. Distribution of key information
6. Identify needs & available resources
7. Identify and analyze “best practices”
8. Set attainable goals
9. Periodic monitoring
10. Continual two-way communications

Cumberland County Commissioners

Commissioner Jamieson

District 1 -
Neil D. Jamieson, Jr.

Email Commissioner Jamieson

Commissioner Witonis

District 2 -
Susan E. Witonis

Email Commissioner Witonis

Commissioner Grover

District 3 -
Mark D. Grover

Email Commissioner Grover

Commissioner Coward

District 4 -
Thomas S. Coward

Email Commissioner Coward

Commissioner Cloutier

District 5 -
James F. Cloutier

Email Commissioner Cloutier

The five commissioners are the chief elected officials of the county. Their primary role involves the approval of the county budget. This process allows the commissioners to assess county operations for both efficiency and effectiveness.

The commissioners establish these priorities when they levy a county tax on the towns and cities which are part of Cumberland County. The commissioners also provide representation on numerous boards and committees in furthering the goal of interagency cooperation.