County Initiatives

Peter Crichton

Peter Crichton, County Manager


Cumberland County Government
142 Federal Street
Portland, ME 04101

Office Hours: Mon-Fri

Cumberland County Government adheres to the following values that the county holds regarding regional relationships.

1. Citizens are the customers
2. Broad-based deliberative process
3. Build trust
4. Outreach initiatives
5. Distribution of key information
6. Identify needs & available resources
7. Identify and analyze “best practices”
8. Set attainable goals
9. Periodic monitoring
10. Continual two-way communications

Strategic Planning & Advisory Council

Cumberland County has conducted two strategic planning processes drawing on town officials, the business and non-profit community to help generate ideas and set priorities for county initiatives. During the 2006-2010 strategic planning process, the Cumberland County Advisory Council was created to help guide the process and set priorities for implementation.

The Advisory Council, chaired by Dana Connors with vice-chair Pamela Plumb meets on a quarterly basis to hear updates on initiatives being taken by the county and give feedback to the County Manager and Commissioners on priorities.

For a new initiative to constitute a priority the issue must first pose an urgent regional need. Second, the county must be in a unique position to address the problem or opportunity by virtue of its legal and organizational structure or other factor. Third, the issue is not be fully addressed by other entities. Finally, there must be a realistic likelihood of success.

There are always smaller initiatives going on such as: regional property tax assessing, back office operations for schools, and the civic center renovation.

Current Advisory Council Members are: Dana Connors (Chair), Pam Plumb (vice-chair), Jerry Angier, Valerie Landry, Larry Littlefield (Regional Education consultant), Bob Goettel (Muskie, Cape Elizabeth), Elinor Muilter (Harpswell, BAC), Tom Bartell (PROP, Space needs) , Neal Allen (GPCOG), Rep. Peter Stuckey, Julie Sullivan (Public Health), Bob Heyner CCSWD, Dick Brzozowski (Coop. Ext), Rep Jane Knapp, Lisa Villa (Harrison), Mitch Berkowitz (Bridgton), Stan Sawyer (Schools), Steve Gorden (Charter Commission), Tony Perkins, Wes Bonney

Commissioners: Jim Cloutier, Richard Feeney, Sue Witonis

Staff: Peter Crichton, Bill Whitten, Bruce Tarbox (facilities), Elizabeth Trice (staff), Valerie Landry (strategic planning consultant), Vic Labrecque (Finance), Wanda Pettersen (HR)

Advisory Council Links

06-19-12 Advisory Council Summary

2001 Strategic plan

2006 Strategic plan

2010 Landry Interview Report with Municipal Leaders